Active Topics

Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: spanners in the bin.....  (Read 2301 times)

Offline rcannon

• Ex Member
Re: spanners in the bin.....
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2016, 01:16:23 PM »
I'm a fairly competent mechanic and got most of the learning done when I was young....notice I said, "most".

Your phrase of "for some reason" hits home.     I decided it was a good idea to clean my dirt bike chain with its engine running.  Of course, I was half lit, but  felt like a good idea at the time.

The chain grabbed my index finger, and guided it through the rear sprocket.  I did not have the chain guide on so it went far enough that my wrist was upside down, finger stuck....

The engine died, which was a miracle. I had the idle set low enough.

I had to roll the wheel backwards to release it.

When I was e, I had a giant puncture through the nail, filled with dirt and chain lube.

Thats why my finger  appears to have a tattoo , under its nail surface....because, it really does!

« Last Edit: November 17, 2016, 01:19:36 PM by rcannon »

Offline maccmike

• SX God
  • 4 wheels move the body but 2 wheels move the soul
  • Bike: Z1000SX Black
  • City / Town: Macclesfield
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2016, 02:09:48 PM »
Ouch, that sounds painful. Reminds me of an incident I had when I was young (yes it was a long time ago  :822:) and lived in the Australian outback. I tripped and fell into the side of a generator kit and I put my hand out to save myself and it went into a v-belt and around one of the pulleys. 60 miles to nearest hospital with a broken thumb and severed finger. Not recommended.

Offline whyhaveone

• SX God
  • Bike: 2016 Z1000SX ABS
  • City / Town: Hampshire
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2016, 02:12:14 PM »
RC and MM, Two big OUCHES there!  :003:
Kawasaki: 1975 250-S1C; 1977 Z650-B1; 1980 Z1000 MKII A3; 2010 ER6n; 2013 Z1000SX ABS; 2016 Z1000SX ABS Tourer

Offline maccmike

• SX God